News / News Releases

TechCrunch Disrupt SF 2013 Announces Startup Battlefield Finalists

Sep 9, 2013

TechCrunch Disrupt SF 2013 Announces Startup Battlefield Finalists
Mark Zuckerberg and Marissa Mayer among other key tech players and innovators on stage

SAN FRANCISCO – Sept. 9, 2013 – TechCrunch today announced 29 finalists for the Startup Battlefield at this year's TechCrunch Disrupt SF. Each year, the conference brings together early stage startups and notable names in the technology community for panels of top-tier speakers and guests addressing the most important topics facing tech today-all leading up to the highly anticipated Startup Battlefield competition.

From Monday, Sept. 9, through Wednesday, Sept. 11, the Startup Battlefield gathers emerging companies to demo on a worldwide stage. Competitors have mere minutes to pitch innovators, investors, venture capitalists and influencers in the tech community for a shot at a $50,000 prize and the coveted Disrupt Cup. The winner will be announced at the closing awards ceremony on Wednesday evening starting at 6:15 p.m.

Former competitors to have launched on the Battlefield stage include Yammer,, Dropbox and the SF 2012 winner, YourMechanic.

The list of Startup Battlefield finalists for 2013 includes:

  • 2600hz
  • Ansa
  • Beestar
  • Bitcovery
  • Bracket-A Skaffl App
  • Breeze
  • Cota by Ossia
  • CPUsage
  • Curiator
  • Dryft
  • First Cut Pro
  • Fates Forever
  • Inside Maps
  • Jumpcloud
  • Koality
  • Layer
  • Monsier
  • NextCaller
  • Outline
  • Regalii
  • Shine Security
  • SlickLogin
  • SoilIQ
  • Tangible Play
  • TidePool
  • Trail
  • Voxel

Featured judges and speakers this year include:

  • Mike Abbott (Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers)
  • Heather Adkins (Google)
  • Michael Arrington (CrunchFund, TechCrunch)
  • Cyan Banister, (Zivity)
  • Rich Barton (Zillow, Barton Ventures)
  • Marc Benioff (Salesforce)
  • James Beshara (Crowdtilt)
  • Niko Bonatsos (General Catalyst Partners)
  • Roelof Botha (Sequoia Capital)
  • Tracy Chou (Pinterest)
  • Jeff Clavier (SoftTech VC)
  • Rob Coneybeer (Shasta Ventures)
  • Ron Conway (SV Angel)
  • Dick Costolo (Twitter)
  • Chris Dixon (Andreessen Horowitz)
  • John Doerr (Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers)
  • Erik Douglas (CellScope)
  • Josh Elman (Greylock Partners)
  • Josh Felser (Freestyle Capital)
  • Patrick Gallagher (CrunchFund)
  • Logan Green (Zimride / Lyft)
  • Julia Hartz (Eventbrite)
  • Reid Hoffman (Greylock Partners)
  • David Hornik (August Capital)
  • Drew Houston (Dropbox)
  • Vinod Khosla (Khosla Ventures)
  • Rick Klau (Google Ventures)
  • Aileen Lee (Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers)
  • David Lee (SV Angel)
  • Jess Lee (Polyvore)
  • Douglas Leone (Sequoia Capital)
  • Max Levchin (Glow, Slide, PayPal)
  • Aaron Levie (Box)
  • Ellen Levy (Silicon Valley Connect)
  • John Lilly (Greylock Partners)
  • Jessica Livingston (Y Combinator)
  • Marissa Mayer (Yahoo!)
  • Eric Migicovsky (Pebble)
  • Michael Moritz (Sequoia Capital)
  • Gavin Newsom (State of California)
  • Ali Partovi (angel investor)
  • Tom Perkins (Kleiner Perkins Caulfield & Byers)
  • Shervin Pishevar (Sherpa Global)
  • Brian Pokorny (SV Angel)
  • Dr. Katherine Pollard (Gladstone Institutes)
  • David Prager (Pitchstarter)
  • Amy Pressman (Medallia)
  • Tom Preston-Werner (GitHub)
  • Matthew Prince (CloudFlare)
  • Keith Rabois (Khosla Ventures)
  • Naval Ravikant (AngelList)
  • Matt Rogers (Nest Labs)
  • Ruchi Sanghvi (Dropbox)
  • Ted Schlein (Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers)
  • Bryan Schreier (Sequoia Capital)
  • Boris Sofman (Anki)
  • Evan Spiegel (Snapchat)
  • Balaji S. Srinivasan (Counsyl)
  • Ilya Sukhar (Parse/Facebook)
  • Mikkel Svane (Zendesk)
  • David SZE (Greylock Partners)
  • Adi Tatarko (Houzz)
  • Halle Tecco (Rock Health)
  • Sebastian Thrun (Udacity)
  • Gentry Underwood (Mailbox)
  • Don Valentine (Sequoia Capital)
  • Michelangelo Volpi (Index Venture Management U.S.)
  • Hunter Walk (Homebrew Ventures)
  • Jeff Weiner (LinkedIn)
  • Scott Weiss (Andreessen Horowitz)
  • Cameron Winklevoss (Winklevoss Capital Management, LLC)
  • Tyler Winklevoss (Winklevoss Capital Management, LLC)
  • Susan Wojcicki (Google)
  • George Zachary (Charles River Ventures)
  • Joe Zadeh (Airbnb)
  • John Zimmer (Lyft)
  • Mark Zuckerberg (Facebook)

About TechCrunch Disrupt SF
TechCrunch Disrupt SF 2013 ( is TechCrunch's seventh annual conference in San Francisco. The format combines top thought-leader discussions with new product and company launches. Morning executive discussions debate technology-driven disruptions in many industries, while the afternoons are reserved for the Startup Battlefield, where 30 new companies will launch for the first time on stage, selected to present from more than 1000 applications received from around the world. The winning company will receive a $50,000 grand prize and the Disrupt Cup at the conclusion of the conference. The conference is Sept. 9-11, 2013 at The Concourse at San Francisco Design Center located at 635 8th St. (at Brannan) in San Francisco's downtown SOMA district.

Media Contact
Sara Crumley
SHIFT Communications for AOL